Место проведения
  • Earth with translucent water in the oceans and the detailed topography of the continents. A fragment of the Far East. Isolated on white

    The Far East is the eastern part of the territory of Russia, including the basins of the rivers that flow into the Pacific Ocean, as well as Sakhalin Island, Wrangel Island, the Kuril Islands, as well as the Komandorskie and Shantarskie Islands.


    Administratively, the Far Eastern Federal District includes 9 subjects:
    1. The Amur Region
    2. The Jewish Autonomous Region
    3. The Kamchatka Region
    4. The Magadan Region
    5. Primorsky Krai
    6. The Republic of Sakha (Yakutia)
    7. The Sakhalin Region
    8. The Khabarovsk Territory
    9. The Chukotka Autonomous District


    The population of the Far East amounts to 6.3 million people or around 5% of the population of Russia. The region’s land area amounts to 6,169,300 km² or around 36% of the area of Russia.


    The climate of the Far East is contrastive — from deeply continental to monsoonal. The reason for this is the enormous extent of the area, which is almost 4,500 km from the North to the South and 2,500-3,000 km from the West to the East, as well as the interaction of continental and marine air masses of the middle latitudes. Mountain relief, the cold Sea of Okhotsk, and the Primorsky flow along the Sea of Japan coast also have a significant impact on the climate.


    The Far East is very rich in raw materials resources. 98% of Russian diamonds, 80% of tin, 90% of raw boron, 50% of gold, 14% of tungsten, 40% of fish and marine products, 80% of soybeans, 1% of wood, and 7% of cellulose are extracted in the Far East.


    The main industries of the Far East are mining and processing of non-ferrous metals, diamond mining, fish, wood, cellulose and paper industries, and shipbuilding and ship repair.